top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Maingi

The Rankings of the Percy Jackson Books

Percy Jackson is such a quality series. It heavily features Greek mythology, especially regarding Greek gods, and that is something I have always been fascinated with. Although Percy Jackson may not be considered true Disney, I am including it because not only do the movies appear on Disney+, but the author, Rick Riordan, just announced that a new live action series will be airing on Disney+. I also do want to emphasize that I absolutely love all of these books in their own ways- I just have my ultimate favorites. Without further ado, here is my ranking of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians book series. 


1. Battle of the Labyrinth (Book 4)

There are many reasons why this book takes number one. However, I think the main reason I like it so much is because it features some Greek myths that are particularly interesting to me. Not only does it talk about the ever famous Labyrinth, but it also talks about Daedalus and Icarus as well as briefly mentioning the sphinx. These are three solid myths that I’ve always enjoyed, but I enjoy them even more now that I’ve seen Rick Riordan’s unique spin on them. For that reason, it holds the number one spot. 


2. The Lightning Thief (Book 1)

As the inaugural book in the Percy Jackson series, we are introduced to Percy’s new world- the world where Greek myths and Greek gods and goddesses are real. As I’ve mentioned in another post, I am a purist, so it is no surprise to me that I had to rank this book as high as I did. This book is especially endearing to me because Percy has no idea what’s going on in the beginning, but ends the book as a bona fide hero. 


3. The Last Olympian (Book 5)

The Last Olympian does a great job of wrapping up the series’ storyline of the evil Titan Kronos trying to regain control of the human world. It brings some surprising plot twists, including an unlikely betrayal at the end that ends up saving the world. Another great thing about this book is that it also leaves enough room for a spin off series, which Riordan is currently working on. 


4. The Titan’s Curse (Book 3)

This placement really hurts me. I LOVE this book. Perhaps more than books 1 & 5, but I can’t put it any higher because of my loyalties towards the beginning of the series and the end. Second to Battle of the Labyrinth, this is the Percy Jackson book I would want to pick up most to just read through. The main reason it isn’t higher is because one of my favorite characters, who is also a main character, hardly appears in this book. This book explores more fascinating Greek myths, including Atlas’ story of holding up the sky, once again spun in a unique way from Rick Riordan. 


5. Sea of Monsters (Book 2)

This is definitely my least favorite book of the series. As I reread it a couple weeks ago though, I realized I didn’t dislike it as much as I thought I did. To me, this book just lacks interesting plot devices compared to the other four books. However, as I mentioned earlier, I do love this book, and I definitely appreciate and enjoy it more as I got older. 


Overall, this is a really fun series (and helped me out a lot in my mythology class this semester). I highly recommend this series to anyone, but especially those that love Harry Potter. Happy reading!

8 views0 comments

תגובות


bottom of page