top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Maingi

I watched Liv and Maddie for the First Time

Updated: Jun 16, 2020

As I mentioned in an earlier blog, I have a sister who is much younger than me. I recently went to my parents’ house and saw her watching this Disney show called Liv and Maddie. I initially had the thought that it was probably some dumb show that I would hate, but I didn’t give it much more thought other than that.

Then, inspiration struck- I would actually watch this show and compare it to my memories of watching my favorite Disney Channel shows as a kid, so I watched the pilot. I learned that this show was about twin sisters who were 15 years old. Liv just came home to her identical twin, younger brothers, and parents after four years of starring in a Hollywood show. While Liv is used to the glamorous Hollywood life and being the center of attention, Maddie is a basketball star at her high school with her dad as the coach. They have two younger brothers: Joey, who is a year younger than them, and Parker, who is about four years younger than them. Here are some of my thoughts as I watched the pilot.

Oh my God, is the mom Sydney Heron from Grey’s Anatomy?

Sassy sibling? Check.

Damn, they’re supposed to be 15? They act like they’re 12.

The main actress is MY AGE?!

Wait, the two brothers share a room? Shouldn’t they be able to have their own rooms since they should be rich because of Liv?

That little boy does not look like he’s in middle school. He looks like he’s 8.

Unaware parents? Check.

Okay but this is actually not a bad show.

This is seriously so middle school-esque and innocent. This does not resemble high school even a little bit.

Do people really call fights between twins twin drama?

Yep, that’s definitely Sydney.

I still don’t know which twin is which 18 minutes in.

Maddie has such awkward shooting form.

Okay Maddie and her new boo actually make a cute couple.

SIBLING ARGUMENTS DON’T END SO PEACEFULLY.

Can you imagine the amount of trouble you’d be in if you let a whole refrigerator fall down the stairs, destroying everything in its way? There would be no laughing in my house. We would be grounded for the rest of our lives.

Overall, I actually really liked this show enough to watch a second episode, and I will probably continue to watch it so I can talk to my sister about it. I was expecting it to be stupid and not like it at all, like a lot of the Disney shows from 2010ish onward, but this actually fits in with one of the eras that I liked as a kid. I think this is definitely a show that I would have watched and really enjoyed as a kid, and I think even my mom approves of it! It definitely seems less “crude” than Hannah Montana, but still funny and enjoyable. Overall, it’s actually a good show and I encourage readers to check it out if they want something new to watch that’s nostalgic of the mid 2000 Disney era.

12 views0 comments

댓글


bottom of page